Lisa Graham Keegan Inducted into Charter Schools Hall of Fame

lead image

Release Date

WASHINGTON, D.C.- National Alliance for Public Charter Schools president and CEO Nina Rees announced that Lisa Graham Keegan, CEO of the Education Breakthrough Network, will be inducted today into the National Charter Schools Hall of Fame for contributions to the parents and students of the public charter school movement:

Lisa Graham Keegan has been a champion of education reform for more than 25 years, working tirelessly to put the needs of parents and children first, said Nina Rees, president and CEO of the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools. From leading Arizona's passage of one of the very first public charter school laws in the nation to her efforts today in advocating for school choice, Lisa has helped to both drive the public charter school movement forward while serving as an inspiration to countless education reformers. As an Arizona state representative in the mid-1990s, Keegan led officials in Arizona to pass a public charter school law that was one of the first of its kind in the country. Following her time in the state legislature, Keegan continued her public service as Arizona's Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1995 to 2001.

Coming to Washington, D.C., in 2001 to accept the role of CEO for the Education Leaders Council, Keegan has remained a key figure in national education policy. Keegan also served as a senior advisor for education policy to John McCain's presidential campaigns in 2000 and 2008 and has provided her policy expertise to governors Jeb Bush and Arnold Schwarzenegger. Keegan currently serves as CEO of the Education Breakthrough Network, an online community she founded in 2010 for advocates of school choice. "The most powerful part of my work is watching educators take on their proper role as the creative force and sustaining energy behind our best schools, said Keegan. I had the honor of merely helping to open a door our charter school leaders have walked through that door to redefine what is possible for a child, for a school and for our country. I could not be more proud of them."

The National Alliance for Public Charter Schools each year honors a special group of individuals and organizations as new inductees to the National Charter Schools Hall of Fame. This honor recognizes individuals and organizations for their contributions in the following areas: pioneering efforts in the development and growth of charter schools; commitment and contributions to charter schools and education; innovative ideas and successful implementation of those ideas; and inspiration to others in the charter school movement.

As a 2013 inductee, Keegan, along with the Walton Family Foundation and Linda Moore, founder of the Elsie Whitlow Stokes Community Freedom Public Charter School, will join a select group of 20 other members who have been honored since the Charter Schools Hall of Fame was established. The new inductees will be officially honored at todays General Session of the 2013 National Charter Schools Conference in Washington, D.C. Each year this conference brings together thousands of charter leaders, teachers, advocates, policy makers and education reformers to share innovative ideas and be inspired by some of the brightest minds in education, public policy, business and philanthropy. A complete overview of the entire weeks activities can be found at:

About the National Alliance

The National Alliance for Public Charter Schools is the leading national nonprofit organization committed to advancing the public charter school movement. Our mission is to lead public education to unprecedented levels of academic achievement by fostering a strong charter sector. For more information, please visit our website at