Cohort of Students Honored With U.S. Presidential Scholar Recognition

lead image

This week, U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona announced the 59th class of U.S. Presidential Scholars, recognizing 161 high school seniors “for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.” Ten of the Presidential Scholars recognized with this esteemed, high honor are public charter school students. 

“Congratulations to this cohort of hardworking scholars who are incredible young leaders of our next generation,” says Nina Rees, CEO and President of the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools. “Thank you to the teachers, mentors, and parents of these students who undoubtedly provided invaluable support to encourage their success.” 

The public charter school 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars are:   

  • AZ - Rachana R. Gurudu, Phoenix - BASIS Scottsdale  
  • AR - Sydney Elizabeth Massey, Little Rock - eStem High Public Charter School  
  • *CA - Lauren Mei, Irvine - Orange County High School of the Arts  
  • DE - Suhani Bhatt, Newark - Newark Charter School  
  • DE - Tatyana Rashid, Newark - MOT Charter School, High School Campus  
  • GA - Jack Xu, Marietta - George Walton High School  
  • NM - Emma Elizabeth Clayton, Rio Rancho - The ASK Academy  
  • *PA - Vibha Janakiraman, West Chester - PA Leadership Charter School  
  • RI - Julia Martins, Cranston - The Greene School  
  • TX - Hannah Guan, San Antonio - BASIS San Antonio Shavano Campus  

* Scholar for U.S. Presidential Scholar in Arts

The National Alliance celebrates all 161 U.S. Presidential Scholars for this recognition.  

The announcement comes at the conclusion of National Charter Schools Week 2023, which coincides with National Teacher Appreciation Week. National Charter Schools Week celebrates charter schools and the students, teachers, parents, and larger community that enable these unique public schools to thrive and serve families.