Charter School Hall of Fame

lead image

The National Alliance is proud to welcome the following distinguished inductees into the National Charter Schools Hall of Fame, which was established to recognize individuals and organizations for pioneering the development and growth of charter schools, implementing innovative ideas, and inspiring others in the movement.

Malcolm “Mike” Peabody

Malcolm Peabody Headshot

Mike Peabody has been a pioneer in Washington, D.C.’s school reform landscape for more than 3 decades. Among his most notable contributions was founding Friends of Choice in Urban Schools (FOCUS) in 1996. FOCUS quickly became one of the most visible and aggressive voices in the city’s burgeoning charter school movement in the District, advocating for equal funding and fair access to city-owned buildings. Today, DC is one of the largest urban charter sectors with nearly fifty percent of public school students attending a charter public school.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee

Caprice Young

Caprice Young Headshot

Caprice Young’s leadership in education reform has transformed the movement in Los Angeles and the nation. Elected to lead the L.A. Unified school board in 1999, she helped increase the number of independent charter schools from seven to over 40 by the time she left office, with dozens more approved to open. Many of those early schools have grown to positively change L.A. In 2003, she founded the California Charter Schools Association, charting the movement’s course and providing a national model for successful state charter organizations. In her five-year tenure as CEO, she helped educators create more than 300 new charters and championed movement quality standards, while continuing work at the national level serving on the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools board. Young has since focused her work at the school level, successfully transforming two prominent, high-performing CMOs. She is now CEO of Magnolia Public Schools, operating 10 high-performing charters in Southern California. Young has also led philanthropic and national organizations engaged in transformational work. She earned her doctorate in education from UCLA, her M.P.A. from USC and her B.A. from Yale University.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee

Greg Richmond

Greg Richmond Headshot

Greg Richmond is President and CEO of the National Association of Charter School Authorizers, an independent voice for effective charter school policy and thoughtful charter authorizing practices that lead to more great public schools. NACSA works directly with school districts, state departments of education agencies and other agencies to improve quality outcomes among charter schools. Before joining NACSA, Richmond spent 11 years at the Chicago Public Schools in a variety of roles, including Chief Officer for New School Development. He has served as the Chair of the Illinois State Charter School Commission and as member of the Aspen Institute’s Commission on No Child Left Behind. Richmond has also consulted with the governments of the United Kingdom, Chile, and Abu Dhabi on the development of charter-like schools in those countries.

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee

Past Hall of Fame Inductees


  • Bill Kurtz
  • Dr. Rod Paige
  • Kim Smith

Read about our 2016 honorees.


  • Mary Landrieu
  • Deborah McGriff
  • Nelson Smith

Read about our 2015 honorees.


  • Chester “Checker” Finn, Jr.
  • Doris & Donald Fisher Fund
  • Eva Moskowitz

Read about our 2014 honorees.


  • Lisa Graham Keegan
  • Linda Moore
  • Walton Family Foundation


  • City Academy High School
  • Jim Griffin
  • Eric Mahmoud
  • John Schroeder


  • Donald Hense
  • Joel Klein
  • Jim Peyser


  • Norman Atkins
  • James Goenner
  • John King


  • Josephine Baker
  • KIPP Charter Schools
  • Don Shalvey


  • Linda Brown
  • Yvonne Chan
  • Ember Reichgott Junge


  • Howard Fuller
  • Sonia Gutierrez
  • Ted Kolderie
  • John Walton