Champions for Charters

lead image

Charter schools depend on lawmakers to understand the role they play in American education. Every year, we recognize the local, state, and federal elected officials who lead the charge to give parents and students better public schools and the freedom to choose the school that works best for them and every year the number of elected officials supporting our work grows. Through their work, these trailblazers have helped make a difference for children who need access to high-quality public school options

2017 Champions for Charters

  • State Representative Dan Burke, Illinois
  • Governor Matt Bevin, Kentucky
  • State Representative John Carney, Kentucky
  • State Senator David Givens, Kentucky
  • State Representative and Speaker of the House Jeff Hoover, Kentucky
  • State Representative Phil Moffett, Kentucky
  • State Representative Jonathan Shell, Kentucky
  • State Senator Stephen West, Kentucky
  • State Senator Mike Wilson, Kentucky
  • State Representative Jonathan Windy Boy, Montana
  • Assemblyman Troy Singleton, New Jersey
  • Senator Cory Booker, New Jersey
  • Representative Tom Cole, Oklahoma
  • State Senator Anthony H. Williams, Pennsylvania
  • Mayor James Diossa, Rhode Island
  • Senator Tim Scott, South Carolina
  • State Delegate R. Steven Landes, Virginia
  • State Senator Mark D. Obenshain, Virginia 

Read about our 2017 Champions.


  • Senator Roy Blunt (MO)
  • Senator Dianne Feinstein (CA)
  • Governor Charlie Baker (MA)
  • Mayor Michael Rawlings (Dallas, TX)
  • Senator Dennis Kruse (IN)
  • State Representative Bob Behning (IN)
  • State Senator Peggy Lehner (OH)
  • State Auditor Dave Yost (OH)
  • State Senator Steve Litzow (WA)
  • State Representative Larry Springer (WA)

Read about our 2016 Champions.


  • Senator Michael Bennet (CO)
  • Representative Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)
  • Governor Mary Fallin (OK)
  • Mayor Michael Hancock (Denver, CO)
  • State Senator Del Marsh (AL)
  • State Representative Terri Collins (AL)
  • State Senator Clark Jolley (OK)
  • State Senator Lee Denney (OK)

Read about our 2015 Champions.


  • Senator Mark Kirk (IL)
  • Representative George Miller (CA)
  • Governor Andrew Cuomo (NY)
  • Governor Brian Sandoval (NV)
  • Mayor Kevin Johnson (Sacramento, CA)
  • State Senator Jill Tokuda (HI)
  • State Representative Phil Owens (SC)

Read about our 2014 Champions.


  • Senator Richard J. Durbin (IL)
  • Chairman John Kline (MN)
  • Lieutenant Governor Tate Reeves (MS)
  • Mayor Karl Dean (Nashville, TN)
  • State Senator Gray Tollison (MS)


  • Senator Tom Harkin (IA)
  • Governor Nathan Deal (GA)
  • State Senator Malcolm Graham (NC)
  • State Representative Brian Bosma (IN)


  • Representative Howard P. McKeon (CA)
  • Mayor Antonio Ramón Villaraigosa (Los Angeles, CA)
  • State Senator Mark Boitano (RI)
  • Education Commissioner Deborah Gist (RI)


  • Representative Jared Polis (CO)
  • Governor Bobby Jindal (LA)
  • State Senator Wayne Kuipers (MI)
  • Mayor Francis G. Slay (St. Louis, MO)


  • Senator Joseph Lieberman (CT)
  • Governor Bill Richardson (NM)
  • Mayor Daniel McKee (Cumberland, RI)
  • State Representative
  • Jan Jones (GA)


  • Senator Thomas R. Carper (DE)
  • Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger (CA)
  • Mayor Michael Bloomberg (New York, NY)
  • State Senator Peter Groff (CO)


  • U.S. Senator Lamar Alexander (TN)
  • Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle (GA)
  • Mayor Richard Daley (Chicago, IL)
  • State Representative Dwight Evans (PA)


  • Senator Mary Landrieu (LA)
  • Lieutenant Governor Bill Owens (CO)
  • State Representative Ralph Arza (FL)
  • Mayor Bart Peterson (Indianapolis, IN)