National Charter Schools Hall of Fame

The National Alliance for Public Charter Schools is proud to welcome the following distinguished inductees into the National Charter Schools Hall of Fame, which was established to recognize individuals and organizations for their contributions in the following areas:
  • Pioneering efforts in the development and growth of charter school
  • Commitment and contributions to charter schools and education
  • Innovative ideas and successful implementation of those ideas
  • Inspiration to others in the charter school movement

Congratulations to the 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees!

The Doris & Donald Fisher Fund seeks to ignite the transformation of American public education by investing in entrepreneurs and organizations whose ideas, programs and policies raise student achievement, foster choice and competition, or otherwise disrupt the educational status quo. The Fisher Fund aims to increase student achievement and attainment among low-income children, increase quality publicly funded school options for low-income families, and create examples of and conditions for the broader transformation of the K-12 public education system. Over the next decade, the Fund hopes to make meaningful contributions to the closing of the achievement gap at home and improving our economic competitiveness abroad.The Fisher Fund supports the creation and replication of high-performing public charter schools, innovative human capital programs, advocacy initiatives at the local, state and federal levels, and new school models that integrate technology to personalize learning, support teaching and improve outcomes. The Fisher Fund’s grantees include groundbreaking organizations such as KIPP (Knowledge Is Power Program) and Teach For America, among many others.
Chester “Checker” Finn, Jr. is a scholar, educator and public servant who has been at the forefront of the national education debate for 35 years. He was born and raised in Ohio and received his doctorate from Harvard in education policy. President of the Thomas B. Fordham Institute, he is also a senior fellow at Stanford University’s Hoover Institution and chairman of Hoover’s Koret Task Force on K–12 Education. Checker is the author of 20 books and more than 400 articles; his work has appeared in publications such as The Christian Science Monitor, Education Week, Harvard Business Review, The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Washington Post and The Weekly Standard. Checker is the recipient of many awards and holds an honorary doctorate from Colgate University. He and his wife, Renu Virmani, a physician, have two grown children and three adorable granddaughters. They live in Chevy Chase, MD.
Eva Moskowitz, a long-time Harlem resident and mother of three, is founder and chief executive officer of the Success Academy Charter Schools, which opens and manages the highest-performing charter schools in New York City. In 2006, Eva launched her first school in Harlem and in just eight years, her network has grown to 22 schools serving more than 6,800 children in Harlem, the South Bronx, the Upper West Side and Brooklyn.The Success Academy schools serve a high poverty population, yet they consistently outperform New York’s most affluent school districts. The flagship Harlem school was chosen as a National Blue Ribbon School in 2012, one of 219 across the country, by the U.S. Department of Education. Eva’s leadership in education reform began with her service as a member of the New York City Council. As Chair of the Council’s Education Committee she visited hundreds of city schools and was known for her investigatory hearings: no aspect of public education – from lighting quality to teacher practice – was too insignificant or too controversial to be explored. Success Academy’s distinctive school design, teaching and curriculum grew out of those experiences, as did her forceful advocacy for national reform. Eva has a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania and a Ph.D. in American History from Johns Hopkins University.

Hall of Fame Inductees 2007-2014







  • Norman Atkins
  • James Goenner
  • John King



  • Howard Fuller
  • Sonia Gutierrez
  • Ted Kolderie
  • John Walton